The Walters Art Museum

Visit the Walters Art Museum

Governance and Board of Trustees
of the Walters Art Museum

Given as a bequest from Henry Walters to the Mayor and City Council of Baltimore in 1931 "for the benefit of the public," the Walters Art Museum has since its founding been governed by an independent Board of Trustees and its by-laws. The museum benefits from the wisdom, support, and advocacy of these community leaders:

Board of Trustees 2016–2017

  • Douglas W. Hamilton, Jr., Chair
  • Ellen N. Bernard, President
  • James H. DeGraffenreidt, Jr., President-Elect
  • Thomas S. Bozzuto, Vice President
  • Christine M. Espenshade, Vice President
  • Guy E. Flynn, Vice President
  • Lynn Homeier Rauch, Vice President
  • Gail L. Shawe, Vice President
  • Michael J. Young, Treasurer
  • Julia Marciari-Alexander, Ph.D., Secretary

  • H. Ward Classen
  • Brad Davidson
  • Michael de Havenon
  • Elke F. Durden
  • Cynthia L. Egan
  • Margaret Z. Ferguson
  • Jonathan M. Fishman
  • Susan D. Ginkel
  • Michael B. Glick
  • Ricardo (Rick) Lobo
  • Nancy E. McColgan
  • Neil A. Meyerhoff
  • Charles J. Nabit
  • Joshua R. Perry
  • Judy Witt Phares
  • George K. Reynolds, III
  • Bernard Selz
  • Karen Clifford Smith
  • Roslyn L. Smith
  • Hervey (Peter) S. Stockman, Jr.
  • Betsey L. B. Todd
  • Frank K. Turner, Jr.
  • Judith Van Dyke
  • Michiel van Katwijk
  • Mary Baily Wieler

Ex-Officio Members

  • The Honorable Catherine E. Pugh, Mayor of Baltimore City
  • The Honorable Bernard C. Young, President of the Baltimore City Council
  • Mary Demory, Representative of the Office of the City Council President
  • The Honorable Lawrence J. Hogan, Jr., Governor of the State of Maryland
  • The Honorable Kevin Kamenetz, Baltimore County Executive
  • Carol B. Doctrow, President of the Docents
  • Adele Kass, Representative of Baltimore County Executive
  • The Honorable Allan H. Kittleman, Howard County Executive
  • Julie Madden, Representative of Howard County Executive
  • Chapman R. Gould, Chair of the Walters Enthusiasts (WE)
  • Barbara Guarnieri, Chair of The Women's Committee
  • Sam Rogers, Representative of Visit Baltimore

Trustees Emeriti

  • Rosalee C. Davison
  • Robert S. Feinberg
  • John Gilmore Ford
  • Samuel K. Himmelrich, Sr.
  • Andrea B. Laporte
  • Cynthia R. Mead
  • William L. Paternotte
  • Adena W. Testa
  • Jay M. Wilson

Director's Advisory Council

  • Eddie C. Brown
  • Constance R. Caplan
  • Philip D. English
  • Laura L. Freedlander
  • Sir Paul Ruddock
  • The Honorable Paul Sarbanes
  • Benjamin B. Zucker