The Walters Art Museum

Visit the Walters Art Museum

← List News Releases

News Release



Semifinalists Announced for Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize

The Baltimore Office of Promotion & The Arts announces the semifinalists for the eighth annual Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize.  The competition awards a $25,000 fellowship to assist in furthering the career of a visual artist or visual artist collaborators living and working in the Greater Baltimore region. The Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is held in conjunction with the annual Artscape juried exhibition and produced with the Walters Art Museum and the Maryland Institute College of Art (MICA).  An award announcement and reception takes place Saturday, July 13, 2013 at 7pm at the Walters Art Museum, located at 600 N. Charles Street.

Approximately six finalists are selected for the final review for the prize.  Their artwork is exhibited in the special exhibition galleries at the Walters on Saturday, June 29 through Sunday, August 11, 2013.  Additionally, an exhibition of the remaining semifinalists’ work is shown in the Decker Gallery and Meyerhoff Gallery of MICA on Thursday, July 18 through Sunday, August 4, 2013.  An opening reception for the semifinalists’ exhibition takes place Thursday, July 18, 2013 from 6pm to 9pm at MICA, located at 1303 W. Mount Royal Avenue. 

Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize Semifinalists

Laura Amussen, Towson, MD

Hedieh Ilchi, Rockville, MD

Catherine Borg, Baltimore, MD

Brian Kain, Emmitsburg, MD

Gabriela Bulisova, Alexandria, VA

Jordan Kasey, Baltimore, MD

Amanda Burnham, Baltimore, MD

Dean Kessmann, Washington, DC

Dustin Carlson, Baltimore, MD

Sung Hwa Kim, Baltimore, MD

Lynn Cazabon, Baltimore, MD

David Knopp, Baltimore, MD

Cindy Cheng, Baltimore, MD

Nate Larson, Baltimore, MD

Mina Cheon, Baltimore, MD

Jonathan Latiano, Baltimore, MD

Wesley Clark, Hyattsville, MD

Kimberly Llerena, Baltimore, MD

Sarada Conaway, Baltimore, MD

Curtis Miller, Baltimore, MD

Ricardo Contreras, Baltimore, MD

A. Moon, Baltimore, MD

Larry Cook, Landover Hills, MD

Jeffrey Moser, Lancaster, PA

Hoesy Corona, Baltimore, MD

Charles Norton, Baltimore, MD

Caitlin Cunningham, Baltimore, MD

Louie Palu, Washington, DC

Frank Day, Washington, DC

Mark Parascandola, Washington, DC

Erika Diehl, Baltimore, MD

Ruth Pettus, Baltimore, MD

Lisa Dillin, Baltimore, MD

Benjamin Piwowar, Baltimore, MD

Amy Finkelstein, Takoma Park, MD

Tatjana Plitt, Odenton, MD

FORCE Upsetting Rape Culture, Baltimore, MD

     (Rebecca Nagle & Hannah Brancato)

Steve Prince, Silver Spring, MD

Adam Rush, Baltimore, MD

Zoe Friedman, Baltimore, MD

Miguel Sabogal, Baltimore, MD

Lorenzo Gattorna & Mary Ancel, Baltimore, MD

Dan Steinhilber, Washington, DC

Marian Glebes, Baltimore, MD

Adejoke Tugbiyele, Baltimore, MD

Clarissa Gregory, Baltimore, MD

Stewart Watson, Baltimore, MD

Joshua Haycraft, Washington, DC

Melissa Webb, Baltimore, MD

Jeff Hensley, Ellicott City, MD

Karen Yasinsky, Tilghman, MD

Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize Timeline

Application deadline: Monday, January 7, 2013

Announcement of semifinalists: Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Announcement of finalists: Tuesday, April 16, 2013

Walters Art Museum exhibition: Saturday, June 29-Sunday, August 11, 2013

Prize announcement: Saturday, July 13, 2013, 7pm

MICA semifinalist exhibition: Thursday, July 18-Sunday, August 4, 2013

MICA semifinalist exhibition opening reception: Thursday, July 18, 6-9pm

Artscape: July 19-21, 2013

Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize

The Artscape Prize is named in honor of Janet and Walter Sondheim who have been instrumental in creating the Baltimore City that exists today. 

Walter Sondheim, Jr. had been one of Baltimore’s most important civic leaders for over 50 years.  His accomplishments included oversight of the desegregation of the Baltimore City Public Schools in 1954 when he was president of the Board of School Commissioners of Baltimore City.  Later, he was deeply involved in the development of Charles Center and the Inner Harbor.  He continued to be active in civic and educational activities in the city and state and served as the senior advisor to the Greater Baltimore Committee until his death in February 2007.

Janet Sondheim danced with the pioneering Denishawn Dancers, a legendary dance troupe founded by Ruth St. Denis and Ted Shawn.  Later, she turned to teaching where she spent 15 years at the Children’s Guild working with severely emotionally disturbed children.  After retirement, she was a volunteer tutor at Highlandtown Elementary School.  She married Walter in 1934, and they were together until her death in 1992.

The 2013 Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize is made possible through the generous support of the Abell Foundation, Alex. Brown & Sons Charitable Foundation, Charlesmead Foundation, Ellen Sondheim Dankert, France-Merrick Foundation, Hecht-Levi Foundation, Legg Mason, M&T Bank Foundation, Henry & Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Foundation, John Sondheim and Whiting-Turner Contracting.

For more information on the Janet & Walter Sondheim Artscape Prize, call 410-752-8632 or visit